Access content directly

Emmanuel Flahaut

Senior CNRS researcher
Researcher identifiers


**University cursus** 1993 – 1995: *Engineering degree at ENSEEG,* Specialisation in Process Engineering and Electrochemistry National Polytechnical Institute of Grenoble 1994 – 1995: *Research Master in Electrochemistry,* University Joseph Fourier, Grenoble (ranked 1st) 1996 – 1999: *PhD in Materials Science,* University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France 2000 – 2001: *Post-doctoral research fellow at Oxford University (UK)* *(French ministry of defence grant)* Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory 2001 – *CNRS researcher CNRS* 2007 "*Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches"*, University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse 2010 – *CNRS Research director (Senior Researcher)* **Research activity:** **Carbon nanotubes, graphene and related materials: synthesis, functionalisation, and (biomedical) applications** Pioneering work in the field of synthesis of double-walled carbon nanotubes (DWNT). Development of biomedical applications des CNTs, after investigation of both their potential toxicity / environmental impact. Application fields range from nanocomposites materials to energy, photonics and nanoelectronics. Activity at the interface between on one side chemistry (purification, surface functionalisation including the grafting of dyes or bioactive molecules) and biology on the other side, which gives me a unique position in the field of nanocarbons and allowed me to acquire an international recognition of my work. **PhD students** (as director / co-director): 17 defended, 4 in progress. **Research funding**: &gt; 1.8 M€ obtained to date to fund my research projects **Administrative duties, Prizes and awards, Publications &amp; Communications** \- **Group leader** (Carbon nanotubes et nanocomposites team, CIRIMAT) (2018-) <a name="_Hlk30025380"></a>- Expert (<a name="_Hlk30027812"></a>Observatory of Micro &amp; Nano Technologies), group "effects of nanomaterials and nanoparticles on health and the environment" from 2007 to 2017. [**Expert at ANSES**]( (French National Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health &amp; Safety): (a) Member of [Comité d'Experts Spécialisé]( "Physical agents, new technologies and major developments" (since 2008); occasional expert for [AFSSAPS]( (French National Agency for medicines and health products) (b) Member of workgroup "Human health risk assessment for nanomaterials" (2011 - 2014) (c) Member of workgroup ["Nanomaterials: Health, Food, Environment, Workplace"]( (2012-2015). In particular, work on the French Mandatory declaration of nanoscale substances, [R-Nano]( (d) **Vice president** of the workgroup on "nanoparticles and food" (since 2017) (e) Member of the Evaluation Commission for research projects of the "National Research Programme on Environment / occupational health (PNR-EST) (2014-2018). \- Member of workgroup "labelling/restriction of products containing nanomaterials", DGPR, Ministry of Ecology (2015) \- Expert for the [French High Council of Public Health]( (workgroup on Nano TiO2; 2017 – 2018; 2019). \- Member of the Scientific Council of the epidemiologic study [EpiNano]( (Public Health France) since 2018. \- Regular **Expert for the European** **Commission** (FP7-NMP, ERC) and many other international institutions. \- **Editor of** [***Synthetic Metals***]( (Elsevier) since 2016; Co-editor of the [Encyclopaedia of Nanotechnology, B. Bhushan, Editor (First Ed., 2008)]( Editorial board of [Springer Nature Appl. Sci](, [Chem. Phys. Chem](, [Frontiers in Materials](, [Part. Sci. Technol.]( <a name="_Hlk30025914"></a>**-** [***Brian Kelly*** **award**]( **- British Carbon Group (2006)** **-** [***Jean Rist*** **medal**]( **– French Society of Metallurgy and Materials (2007)** **- *Paul Sabatier* award from the Académie des Sciences, Inscriptions et Belles Lettres de Toulouse (2007)** **-** [**INP'Innov**]( **award (National Polytechnical Institute of Toulouse, 2011), for the creation of the joint laboratory Nautile** **-** [**Junior "Distinguished Member" of the French Chemical Society**]( **(2014)** **-** [**"Senior researcher" award from the Physical Chemistry Division**]( **(French Chemical Soc. and French Physical Soc.) (2016)** **- "Scientific excellence" awards (PES) (2010-2018)** **-** [**Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences**]( **(EurASc) (2020)**